xml pickup to call a stored procedure

The Bidd

xml pickup to call a stored procedure

Post by The Bidd »

Hi

I am new to Switch so am looking for some advice on how I can get data from my xml file and use in in a call to by database.

So far I have an xml pickup set to "metadata alongside asset" this then passes to the database connect.
From this I am calling a stored procedure that passes two variables into the database and returns an email address if true or a defuaul email is false
The SQL side is not a problem but I can't get the xml data to pickup?

This is what I have so far (Free Typed)

Code: Select all

CALL myprocedure_SP_switchLookup ([Metadata.Text:Path="/ValueDescription/MF_2",Dataset="xml",Model="XML"], [Metadata.Text:Path="/ValueDescription/MF_1",Dataset="xml",Model="XML"])
Hopefully this is a simple issue and someone can help?

Thanks in advance and Happy New Year to all

Bidd
sander
Advanced member

Re: xml pickup to call a stored procedure

Post by sander »

Use 'Metadata is asset' as pickup mode. That way you can use the XML metadata via the Metadata.Text etc. variables.
The Bidd

Post by The Bidd »

Hi Sander

Thanks for the quick response.

I have changed the setting but it still does not show the data in the "Build location path" to allow me to pick it up?
In the SQL Statement I select "Define Variables > Metadata-Text >Path >Build Location Path and select the xml file.
From here I expected to be able to select the data from the xml but its currently empty!
The only thing showing in the data tree is rdf:Description

This is My XML file

<?xml version="1.0"?>

-<ValueDescription Type="metadatafields">

<MF_1 Type="string" ReadOnly="Yes" LocalizedTagName="Customer Name" ValueIsRequired="Yes" Tooltip="Customer Name" Default="" Editor="inline" RememberLastValue="No" Format="" Subtype="inline">Customer Testing</MF_1>