How do you hold a file until the rest copy?

MarkStrecker

How do you hold a file until the rest copy?

Post by MarkStrecker »

I am new to Switch and can't write JavaScript code (at least not yet). I have a flow that copies PDF files for digital printing from one network server to another. One the receiving server, which is at another print plant, the files copy into a folder that is monitored by a Switch system independent from the one I am using (meaning that I can't do anything with the receiving Switch flow, just the one I made to move the files from one server to another). Along with the PDFs, we send a text file that has a name matching the folder in which the PDFs are sent. The receiving Switch flow will start processing the these PDFs when the receiving Switch receives the text file (which moves into a different folder on the receiving server). If, for example, the job folder were named "1234567891011_T", the text file would be named that as well. The number of PDFs in a given folder vary from job to job, and the folder names are almost always unique.

Here is the problem. I don't want the text file to copy to the receiving server until after the PDFs have completely copied. Is there a way to do this? I tried setting up a Hold folder that will release the text file when it sees a job folder of the same name on the receiving server, but this didn't work. It released the moment Switch created the folder on the receiving server, but before the files had copied. I tried to do something simpler like setting up the hold folder to release the text file after an hour, but when there are lot of files at once, it might take up to four hours to copy, and I don't want a four hour delay during times when it takes far less for a given job to move to the receiving server.

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Screenshot 2.jpg
Screenshot 2.jpg (58.23 KiB) Viewed 7976 times
loicaigon
Advanced member

Re: How do you hold a file until the rest copy?