Illustrator configurator scripting

Azrael113

Illustrator configurator scripting

Post by Azrael113 »

Hello, I'm new to the switch community and I'm just getting used to it.

However, I have inherited an existing, quite extensive, switch environment and have to learn to manage it.
I currently have a problem with the Illustrator configurator. There are some Java scripts for controlling Illustrator that no longer work.
The call in switch looks good. All variables are filled correctly and all paths are configured correctly. I was also told that all scripts have already worked without errors. However, they also failed from time to time.
From my point of view, the scripts are not called at all or passed to Illustrator.
The Illustrator icon in the configurator was colored and the path was set correctly. But I clicked on "search for application" and then the icon was gray. So I suspect that the connection between switch (2018) and Illustrator CC2018 is not working. The version of the configurator is 10. I could update it to version 12. But I suspect the problem is not there. By the way, Illustrator is installed on the standard path. However, there is also a - no longer supported - installation of CS5.1 on the system. Switch may also be bothered by it.

Can one of you help me?
jan_suhr
Advanced member

Re: Illustrator configurator scripting

Post by jan_suhr »

Instead of "Search for application" you should use "Set path to application".

You are sure that Illustrator isn't updated to the latest version. The Switch configurators for Adobe applications usually lags a while before they get updated to match the latest versions. It is good to keep Adobe applications in Switch at the version you know works. Disable any autoupdates on the Switch server for the Adobe applications.
Jan Suhr
Color Consult AB
Sweden
=============
Check out my apps
Azrael113

Post by Azrael113 »

Hi Jan,