Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post Reply
User avatar
magnussandstrom
Advanced member
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:34 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by magnussandstrom »

Hi, I would like to build a flow thats scan QR codes and outputs a textfile with the barcode information. Is it possible to use Switch and Pitstop for this? Any suggestions?
User avatar
JimmyHartington
Advanced member
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:38 am

Re: Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by JimmyHartington »

Hi Magnus

I will recommend looking at this tool:
http://zbar.sourceforge.net
which you should be able to integrate with Switch.
I have had some issues using Pitstops scan QR-code function. It did not catch all.

Using

Code: Select all

zbarimg
on this file https://d.pr/f/fw7Mat
returns

Code: Select all

QR-Code:https://www.skabertrang.dk
scanned 1 barcode symbols from 4 images in 0,8 seconds
nna
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:57 am

Re: Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by nna »

There's an action list element in PitStop called "check barcodes" (or something along those lines, my installation is in German) where you can check for a QR code and its contents. You could then use the free app "Create text file" to get the contents of the QR codes stored in the Log metadata and create a textfile with the barcode information. I've attached a screenshot of the flow. I can send you the flow, just shoot me a message on here with your email :).
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2022-04-04 um 11.22.30.png
Bildschirmfoto 2022-04-04 um 11.22.30.png (66.98 KiB) Viewed 12527 times
freddyp
Advanced member
Posts: 1008
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by freddyp »

JimmyHartington wrote: Mon Apr 04, 2022 11:22 am I have had some issues using Pitstops scan QR-code function. It did not catch all.
Did you report those, Jimmy? And Magnus, the PitStop method as described by nna is still worth trying because PitStop certainly does not miss all QR codes. Codes that are missed could be due to rotation (there is an option for taking that into account or not), or to bad colors, and that may not apply in your case.
User avatar
JimmyHartington
Advanced member
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:38 am

Re: Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by JimmyHartington »

HI Freddy

Yes, I did report it and it should be logged for development to look at. (Case Number ENF-00176660)

The problem was with this simple file: https://d.pr/f/9TVKMs
Where no QR-codes a read with default settings.

zbar reads all 5 in 0.46 seconds.
popniete
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:22 am

Re: Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by popniete »

Hi, is there any news on this? Im looking for a way to read very basic datamatrix codes and the PitStop-Action doesn't catch these at all – in fact, it doesn't work on most of my test files.
User avatar
JimmyHartington
Advanced member
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:38 am

Re: Scan barcodes (QR) and output as textfile

Post by JimmyHartington »

noblekeon wrote: Tue Sep 26, 2023 11:56 am
JimmyHartington wrote: Mon Apr 04, 2022 11:22 am I have had some issues using Pitstops scan QR-code function. It did not catch all.
If so, Jimmy, did you report them? It's still a good idea to give nna's PitStop technique a shot, Magnus, as it doesn't miss all QR codes. Codes may be missed for various reasons, including rotation (which can be taken into account or not) or poor color contrast, neither of which may be relevant to your situation.
I did report it to development.
Post Reply