Insert image

mattgaspar
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:35 am

Insert image

Postby mattgaspar » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:12 pm

Is it possible to insert/add an image to a pdf with a PitStop Server action? I see an action to paste an object from a clipboard but even this doesn't seem to actually paste from the system clipboard, it appears to only be able to copy and paste internally with the current file.

I would like to pass a file path in a job ticket and insert the image using a variable. Would like to be able to insert a pdf and/or a raster image (jpg, png...).
It seems like actions can't insert anything beside text and lines. Am I missing something? Also the PitStop Server Reference Guide doesn't seem to document how to use most of the actions. Is there more information anywhere? The PitStop Pro guide has info on most of the actions but it mostly refers to using the user interface which doesn't help in creating a server action.

loicaigon
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Insert image

Postby loicaigon » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:53 am

hi
There is an action that will let you paste a predefined graphic.
See: add copied graphics

Apart from that you can't (unless I am wrong) do dynamic overlay with PitStop.

User avatar
Terkelsen
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Insert image

Postby Terkelsen » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:37 am

I don't know if you have Switch but I have done something similar using Switch and Pitstop Server.

In Switch I inject the new image based on a variable. If it's not already a PDF use the Acrobat configurator to open the image and save as PDF.

Then merge the newly injected PDF with the PDF, where you want to paste the image. Make sure to sort the files so that the new image is page 1 and the original PDF is page 2 (you might need to use Rename to add a suffix to the files before merging.

Now you have a two-page PDF and you can make an action, that selects and copies the image on page 1 and paste it into page 2 after which you can delete page 1.

I have used this flow to replace lowers images in a PDF with similar higres images and it works just fine.

mattgaspar
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:35 am

Re: Insert image

Postby mattgaspar » Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:43 pm

Hi loicaigon
What do you mean by "paste a predefined graphic"? By predefined, do you mean a copied graphic? It seems that to copy a graphic it needs to be already included in the file, I don't see an option to paste from the system clipboard.

Terkelsen,
We don't have switch, I was mistakenly under the impression that switch was just for automating workflows and that most of the core functionality was built into PitStop Server, but this seems to not be the case. I was planning to automate our preflighting using the PitStop Server CLI. And I was hoping I could create proofs from a template using PitStop Server CLI by inserting an image and adding text from a job ticket.

Thanks
Matt

loicaigon
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Insert image

Postby loicaigon » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:23 am

@mattgaspar,

You would need a source document hosting the element you want to place onto other documents. You do select the item and create an action using "add copied graphics" then click on "Grab Selection". Once that done, you can have the element pasted in any further PDF files (unless protected of course). To rephrase it, the source document is only needed once.

FWIW

mattgaspar
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:35 am

Re: Insert image

Postby mattgaspar » Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:40 pm

@loicaigon

Can this be done in PitStop Server? It sounds like you're talking about PitStop Pro, I don't think it's possible to open 2 documents in a action and there is no "Grab Selection". Terkelsen's solution was to merge the 2 documents using switch to be able to copy and paste from one another. But this seems overly complex from something that seems pretty basic and I am not currently using Switch which makes it more difficult. I don't understand why there is no action to insert a file using a path, this seems like a fundamental feature.

loicaigon
Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Insert image

Postby loicaigon » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:22 pm

hi,

It's a separate process and only meaningful if the same graphic is applied over and over (think of a logo for ex.) and that's feasible with PitStop pro and server (action is the same).

But in your case, that's not helpful.

User avatar
Terkelsen
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Insert image

Postby Terkelsen » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:48 pm

@mattgaspar

You can do so much more with the combination of Switch and PitStop Server. Since you already have PitStop Server there is a special price for upgrading to Pitstop2Switch, which will give you all the capability of Switch Core Engine and the ability to use the configurator for PitStop Server.


Return to “PitStop Server”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest