Transparency flattening issue

loicaigon
Advanced member
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Transparency flattening issue

Postby loicaigon » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:41 am

Hi,

I am flattening transparency with PS for a client in order to outline fonts. A transparent object is added to the file in order to force flattening.
I know already it shouldn't be done this way but it's not the point of my post here.

Anyway, fact is PS states the flattening went fine but once I edit the file in Acrobat, I can see that the transparent areas remained. So I am very troubled. Why the transparency wouldn't be flattened inspite PS is set to do so ?

Thanks in advance for your possible insights.

Loic

abailescollins
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Transparency flattening issue

Postby abailescollins » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:40 pm

One for partner support I think Loic

Why not just use the outline fonts Action List, no need to add transparency for that?
PitStop Product Manager @ Enfocus.
andrewb@enfocus.com

loicaigon
Advanced member
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Transparency flattening issue

Postby loicaigon » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:21 pm

Hi Andrew,

I did send my request for support so fingers crossed I will get some useful feedback from there ;)

As for "Outline action", it seems it fails outlining if the font isn't accessible. That makes perfectly sense. But weirdly enough, flattening transparency will allow outlining fonts when the action can't. Of course it has a lot of side effects and this is not something I encourage. But sometimes, it's the only way around so…

I have been told that this result is due to some Adobe Computations that try to figure out how the font should look like once outlined. I admit I have no clue about it works exactly and feel free to share your feedback.

Best regards

Loic

abailescollins
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Transparency flattening issue

Postby abailescollins » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:53 pm

Sounds very dangerous to run in an automated workflow, but if it works then that's the important thing.
PitStop Product Manager @ Enfocus.
andrewb@enfocus.com

loicaigon
Advanced member
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Transparency flattening issue

Postby loicaigon » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:06 pm

Okay
So I got feedback from support and problem was that actions are executed after the flattening happens. So instead of getting rid of transparency, I was actually adding some.
Once I decoupled action and flatteing through two different threads, all went fine.


Return to “PitStop Server”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: v1ncent and 1 guest