How to remove Form?

Post Reply
Zoranj
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:37 pm
Location: Canada

How to remove Form?

Post by Zoranj » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:58 pm

This is not interactive form element.
I am talking about form in PDF that usually have one or more objects combined.

There is an action "Put Selection in Form"
I want opposite of "Put Selection in Form", something like select content and remove form, or remove container of the form and leave content, or similar.

Example, I have some PDF with imposed items and die.
I am running actions to remove all elements except for die colour, however often die elements are in some kind of form inside the PDF so form stays as well.
I need completely clean PDF with only die lines, no forms, no containers, no nothing else.

I can manually edit form using form tool, but I want to do this in automated way, through Action.
There is also action "Select Form contents according to form selection" with option to deselect content, but it does not work.
It either removes both form and content or does nothing.

Thanks

Padawan
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:48 pm

Re: How to remove Form?

Post by Padawan » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:53 pm

There are many kind of form objects in PDF. Can you share a sample file which illustrates the issue?

Zoranj
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:37 pm
Location: Canada

Re: How to remove Form?

Post by Zoranj » Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:15 pm

Sure, here is one example.
If you look in wireframe mode, you will see that dieline is part of a large form.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/6jki7rg428wn4 ... m.pdf?dl=0

Padawan
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:48 pm

Re: How to remove Form?

Post by Padawan » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:53 pm

I was thinking of an Action List with:
- Cut objects inside the form objects to the clipboard
- Remove all objects
- Paste the objects from the clipboard

But PitStop seems to want to keep the paths together with their form fields, so that doesn't work.

As far as I can tell there is no way to do what you want in Action Lists. I think you'll have to report it to Enfocus directly if you wish to have that double checked and maybe have that changed.

Out of curiosity, why do you want the form fields removed? Do you have some application which can't handle them?

Zoranj
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 7:37 pm
Location: Canada

Re: How to remove Form?

Post by Zoranj » Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:17 pm

Thanks for trying Padawan.
The reason being is these die files are than sent to vendor who does the actual Die for us.
This vendor has some ancient equipment and files need to be perfect, without anything in them.
I guess if software finds any lines even empty, it thinks it is cut.

I'll run it by Enfocus support to see.

Post Reply