Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post Reply
primarycolorinc
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:39 pm

Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by primarycolorinc » Fri Aug 07, 2020 6:47 pm

When I am creating an action to remove die lines, do I list them with a comma seperating them or do I create multiple actions, one action per name?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 11.41.54 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 11.41.54 AM.png (173.8 KiB) Viewed 1540 times

abailescollins
Advanced member
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by abailescollins » Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:15 pm

Right Action List, wrong configuration.

You need to click on 'Select Spot Color by Name' and then scroll down to 'Select Spot Color name from list'
Then you can add a separate spot color name per line.
PitStop Product Manager @ Enfocus.
andrewb@enfocus.com

primarycolorinc
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by primarycolorinc » Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:58 pm

That worked perfectly! Thank you sir. 8-)

primarycolorinc
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by primarycolorinc » Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:57 pm

When creating action lists and altering, is pitstop and switch the same when wanting to add multiple names? For example, the layers section in pitstop.
I am going to create a action to set the trim box to a die line. In the attributes section, can I put die,dieline,cut,cutcontour,contourcut,thru-cut, etc? This will allow the trim box to be set to the die line and then not if there is not a dieline layer. Does this make sense? I apologize if I made this convoluted.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-08-10 at 10.50.43 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-08-10 at 10.50.43 AM.png (152.05 KiB) Viewed 1491 times

abailescollins
Advanced member
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by abailescollins » Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:25 pm

In Action Lists you'll need to add a 'Select' for each and every layer name.
You'll also have to add the appropriate amount of "OR's" to indicate that the action should work if any of the layers are found.

Be aware though you need a different selection, you don't want the layer. you want the objects that relate to that layer.
You need to select the objects to set the Trim Box.
'Select objects in layer by name' is the one you want.

Then 'Change Trim Box'
with 'Resize Page Box to fit Selection' enabled.
PitStop Product Manager @ Enfocus.
andrewb@enfocus.com

Padawan
Advanced member
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:48 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by Padawan » Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:59 am

When you use regular expressions you don't have to use a single select for each layer name, you can all combine them in one select action with a regular expression. The following one will literally match any layername in your list:

Code: Select all

(Dieline|thru-cut|cutcontour|contourcut|cut|die|kiss-cut)
Screenshot 2020-08-12 at 08.53.23.png
Screenshot 2020-08-12 at 08.53.23.png (47.72 KiB) Viewed 1452 times
When we are already using regular expression, we can also build one which matches anything containing cut or die:

Code: Select all

(.*cut.*|.*die.*)
regex2.png
regex2.png (45.73 KiB) Viewed 1452 times

Post Reply