Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post Reply
primarycolorinc
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:39 pm

Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by primarycolorinc »

When I am creating an action to remove die lines, do I list them with a comma seperating them or do I create multiple actions, one action per name?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 11.41.54 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-08-07 at 11.41.54 AM.png (173.8 KiB) Viewed 6595 times
abailescollins
Advanced member
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by abailescollins »

Right Action List, wrong configuration.

You need to click on 'Select Spot Color by Name' and then scroll down to 'Select Spot Color name from list'
Then you can add a separate spot color name per line.
Head of Product Management @ Ultimate
abc@imposition.com
primarycolorinc
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by primarycolorinc »

That worked perfectly! Thank you sir. 8-)
primarycolorinc
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:39 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by primarycolorinc »

When creating action lists and altering, is pitstop and switch the same when wanting to add multiple names? For example, the layers section in pitstop.
I am going to create a action to set the trim box to a die line. In the attributes section, can I put die,dieline,cut,cutcontour,contourcut,thru-cut, etc? This will allow the trim box to be set to the die line and then not if there is not a dieline layer. Does this make sense? I apologize if I made this convoluted.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-08-10 at 10.50.43 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-08-10 at 10.50.43 AM.png (152.05 KiB) Viewed 6546 times
abailescollins
Advanced member
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:28 pm

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by abailescollins »

In Action Lists you'll need to add a 'Select' for each and every layer name.
You'll also have to add the appropriate amount of "OR's" to indicate that the action should work if any of the layers are found.

Be aware though you need a different selection, you don't want the layer. you want the objects that relate to that layer.
You need to select the objects to set the Trim Box.
'Select objects in layer by name' is the one you want.

Then 'Change Trim Box'
with 'Resize Page Box to fit Selection' enabled.
Head of Product Management @ Ultimate
abc@imposition.com
Padawan
Advanced member
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:48 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Die line, thru-cuts, CutContour, ContourCut Does the list ever stop!!!!

Post by Padawan »

When you use regular expressions you don't have to use a single select for each layer name, you can all combine them in one select action with a regular expression. The following one will literally match any layername in your list:

Code: Select all

(Dieline|thru-cut|cutcontour|contourcut|cut|die|kiss-cut)
Screenshot 2020-08-12 at 08.53.23.png
Screenshot 2020-08-12 at 08.53.23.png (47.72 KiB) Viewed 6507 times
When we are already using regular expression, we can also build one which matches anything containing cut or die:

Code: Select all

(.*cut.*|.*die.*)
regex2.png
regex2.png (45.73 KiB) Viewed 6507 times
Post Reply