Load balancing multiple installs of pitstop sever

Post Reply
Gearstudios
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:59 am

Load balancing multiple installs of pitstop sever

Post by Gearstudios »

Investigating if multiple pitstop servers pulling from the same directory could load balance without using switch? Anyone have experience with this scenario?
loicaigon
Advanced member
Posts: 267
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Load balancing multiple installs of pitstop sever

Post by loicaigon »

Hi there,

If you are looking for load-balancing, you may be interested in our PitStop Library Container which seems like a perfect candidate for your needs. The PitStop Library Container allows you to process files in a scalable distributed environment.
You may find some info here:
https://www.vigc.be/bluetree-print-achi ... container/
and here
https://www.enfocus.com/en/pitstop-library-sdk

It may seems complex but the implementation is actually very easy. Feel free to ask if you need more details.

Loic Aigon
Product Manager PitStop
Gearstudios
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:59 am

Re: Load balancing multiple installs of pitstop sever

Post by Gearstudios »

That sounds Interesting. I visited the links but didn’t see much detail info on how it can be used to load balance multiple servers pulling from a single directory. Is there more info you can provide?
loicaigon
Advanced member
Posts: 267
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:22 am

Re: Load balancing multiple installs of pitstop sever

Post by loicaigon »

Hi there,

We have some documentations that are not publicly distributed yet. But to answer your questions, the PitStop Library Container (PLC) is a docker container that hosts the PitStop Library. Then you can access PitStop either through a REST API or through a queuing system like Amazon SQS to execute the typical operations.

Scalability and load balancing is achieved by setting how many workers you allocate to the PLC. Then every time a worker is free, it takes the next job on the plate. May you reach a peak, you can simply add more workers or more PLC instances. Whatever you do, you are only charged on the volumes of processed files that you picked.

Feel free to drop an email at loica (at) enfocus (dot) com if you want to try it out.

Loic
Post Reply