Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post Reply
User avatar
Soul Forge
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2023 5:25 pm

Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by Soul Forge »

Hello!

So I have the following problem:
I'm generating html e-mails with some info. The html file waits in a checkpoint for the approval of the opperator and, while it's waiting, the opperator can send anothe file through the flow and create a new HTML file that gets updated with the new Info.
I tried to use inject job to remove the old version of the HTML, related to the Order ID, from the Checkpoint folder, but then the old version keeps appearing as a ghost file in the web portal.
User avatar
magnussandstrom
Advanced member
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:34 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by magnussandstrom »

If it's not important for the operator to see all info in the HTML file, maybe you can do like this, using th app 'Wait for asset'?

html.png
html.png (53.91 KiB) Viewed 400 times
User avatar
Soul Forge
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2023 5:25 pm

Re: Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by Soul Forge »

magnussandstrom wrote: Wed Jun 19, 2024 12:36 pm If it's not important for the operator to see all info in the HTML file, maybe you can do like this, using th app 'Wait for asset'?

html.png
For now it's important for the operator to see it because it's a new process and I need to build trust inside the department, only this way I'm able to make them use it everyday, until it's an automatic process inside their workflow.
User avatar
magnussandstrom
Advanced member
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:34 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by magnussandstrom »

Ok, maybe you can add a Reject output in the Checkpoint, that the operator must submit before updating with new data?

I don't know of any good ways to remove a job from a checkpoint without manually send it to an output or using the timeout option.
User avatar
Soul Forge
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2023 5:25 pm

Re: Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by Soul Forge »

magnussandstrom wrote: Thu Jun 20, 2024 11:05 am Ok, maybe you can add a Reject output in the Checkpoint, that the operator must submit before updating with new data?

I don't know of any good ways to remove a job from a checkpoint without manually send it to an output or using the timeout option.
Well, I think there's no other ways actually.
One thing I keep realizing is that, it would be so much easier if most switch apps had a setting for failing jobs or making some decisions through webhooks.
User avatar
magnussandstrom
Advanced member
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:34 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by magnussandstrom »

Maybe it's possible to use the Switch WebServices API? (Maybe Freddy could add som clarity):

https://www.enfocus.com/manuals/Develop ... 23.1/index
User avatar
Soul Forge
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2023 5:25 pm

Re: Sending a job waiting in checkpoint through a connection using script

Post by Soul Forge »

magnussandstrom wrote: Thu Jun 20, 2024 11:42 am This one looks promising: https://www.enfocus.com/manuals/Develop ... ReplaceJob
Well, one more thing I should learn!

Reading the documentation I don't have a clue how to use it. I need to learn the basics of API.

Thanks a bunch Magnus!
Post Reply