XML Pickup Help.

Paulyy

XML Pickup Help.

Post by Paulyy »

Hi all, New here. Lurking for a bit but now can't find an answer.

Bear with me, i am new to Switch. I also am still demoing it so i dont have access to a lot of the help stuff which requires the subscription. I've just been looking at which modules, seeing which i need and dont need. (hence the demo)

I have an ok understanding of switch from all the beginner tutorials. made my own flows etc. have some basic automation in place.

Im trying to do an XML pickup. I've got a whole folder full of PDFs and XML folders.
Files are something like:
1234_5678.XML
1223_4556.XML
2234_7362.XML

1234_5678_job_name.PDF
1223_4556_another_job_name.PDF
2234_7362_some_other_job_name.pdf.

i have them in a folder. connected to XML pickup.
Ive selected Metadata alongside asset.
I am not sure what to put in the file name pattern,
I've tried stuff like *_*.xml; *_*.pdf and [job.name segment 1-9}_*
and anything i've tried, the jobs just sit in the folder.

I've had luck with using metadata in jobfolder asset, but this wont in this situation as every file has it's own XML.

Any help would be appreciated!
Last edited by Paulyy on Tue Aug 29, 2023 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jan_suhr
Advanced member

Re: XML Pickup Help.

Post by jan_suhr »

The XML-pickup is an important tool and necessary for doing real automation.

Metadata along asset means that Switch will pickup the content in the XML and attach it to the job file. For Switch to know which XML-file it should attach to the job file they must have the same name before the extension.

So your 1234_5678.xml must have a job file named 1234_5678.pdf.

There are ways to store the original name when you use the rename tool so that after the XML pickup you can get the real name back.
Jan Suhr
Color Consult AB
Sweden
=============
Check out my apps
Paulyy

Post by Paulyy »