HP SmartStream VDP

Post Reply
aoswood
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:16 pm

HP SmartStream VDP

Post by aoswood » Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:08 pm

I am trying to get the Smartstream Designer VDP configurator to work without any success. I have InDesign CC 2015 installed, the newest version of Smartstream. I also have the ExtendScript Tool kit installed. When I send a CSV file through it launches InDesign but nothing ever processes.

I manually open up the template and am able to process the job out of Smartstream.

SWITCH 13 Update 1
Adobe InDesign CC 2015 (Configurator Version 6)
HP Smartstream Designer 11.1.5 (Configurator Version 114)

User avatar
gabrielp
Advanced member
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:31 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by gabrielp » Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:34 pm

aoswood wrote:I am trying to get the Smartstream Designer VDP configurator to work without any success. I have InDesign CC 2015 installed, the newest version of Smartstream. I also have the ExtendScript Tool kit installed. When I send a CSV file through it launches InDesign but nothing ever processes.

I manually open up the template and am able to process the job out of Smartstream.

SWITCH 13 Update 1
Adobe InDesign CC 2015 (Configurator Version 6)
HP Smartstream Designer 11.1.5 (Configurator Version 114)
What does the log out XML say? Anything in the Switch log? If you open up the template and load the CSV (as Switch would) into the template, can you produce the job without any errors?
Free Switch scripts: open-automation @ GitHub
Free Switch apps: open-automation @ Enfocus appstore

If I've helped you and you'd like to say thanks, consider adding me on LinkedIn and leaving me an endorsement or recommendation. It helps a lot!

lombert
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by lombert » Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:53 am

I think the SmartStream VDP is a little tricky to get started, but I have done this to all my variable-flows;

The big thing is that the variable-file needs to have the same name as the document it wants to use. Here are one example;

Image

In Switch you setup the flow and make the "Template folder" point to a place there you have the document.

Image

In the "Template folder" there can you put one or many different folders with your documents. The folder name is the important, it is that the VDP looks after and picks up the document inside that folder.

In this flow I have a checkpoint there I pick the right document;

Image

and then I rename the file to this before it came to the VDP.
Between jobs!

freddyp
Advanced member
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by freddyp » Tue Nov 15, 2016 12:24 pm

Indeed, the name of the CSV file determines what template will be used.

I do not know if your list of templates in the metadata of the checkpoint is fixed or dynamic, but for the benefit of the users who would want that list to be dynamic here is a script expression that can be used to achieve that:

var dirObject = new Dir("/Something/Something/SmartStream Designer VDP/Templates"); //path to be filled in by you
dirObject.entryList("*",Dir.Dirs|Dir.NoDotAndDotDot,Dir.Name);

lombert
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by lombert » Tue Nov 15, 2016 12:44 pm

Thanks freddyp!

My list was fixed.
Cool, that is very good to knew. It works perfect. :)

Same folder as shown above;

Image
Between jobs!

aoswood
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:16 pm

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by aoswood » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:27 pm

I have used this many times before, the Template and the CSV file are named correctly. InDesign launches but never runs the file. There are NO errors in the SWITCH messages.

If I use the same CSV file open it manually on the machine it will output the job with no problems.

User avatar
gabrielp
Advanced member
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:31 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by gabrielp » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:32 pm

aoswood wrote:I have used this many times before, the Template and the CSV file are named correctly. InDesign launches but never runs the file. There are NO errors in the SWITCH messages.

If I use the same CSV file open it manually on the machine it will output the job with no problems.
Yeah, it's incredibly frustrating dealing with any of the HP configurators. Every time I have an issue with them, I pray for an error message to debug.

If you'd like to connect with me on Gitter, I can help review your flow and configuration to see if there's anything that differs from mine: https://gitter.im/open-automation/Lobby
Free Switch scripts: open-automation @ GitHub
Free Switch apps: open-automation @ Enfocus appstore

If I've helped you and you'd like to say thanks, consider adding me on LinkedIn and leaving me an endorsement or recommendation. It helps a lot!

lombert
Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by lombert » Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:32 pm

aoswood wrote:I have used this many times before, the Template and the CSV file are named correctly. InDesign launches but never runs the file. There are NO errors in the SWITCH messages.

If I use the same CSV file open it manually on the machine it will output the job with no problems.
I had some problem then I used orher characters then a-z and 1-9. The file is not processed and after the time-out it cames to the problem-folder.. so I have a rename-configuraror before VPD if I dont knew what name the file have..
Between jobs!

aoswood
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:16 pm

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by aoswood » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:24 pm

My configurator is setup to go to the root of the Templates folder. Inside I have a folder called HomeDepot. My Indesign Template is called HomeDepot.indd. My CSV file is called HomeDepot_Test.csv ( I have tried renaming to just "HomeDepot.csv") Always with the same results, drop the file, it launches InDesign and nothing happens. I don't receive any error from SWITCH it just doesn't do anything.
Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 3.15.51 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2016-11-22 at 3.15.51 PM.jpg (199.53 KiB) Viewed 12148 times

User avatar
gabrielp
Advanced member
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:31 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by gabrielp » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:08 pm

That looks correct. Check the version of InDesign that Switch is using. Are your CC credentials valid? Are your SmartStream credentials valid? Check on your license.

Create a log out and post the XML log (doubtful anything useful will be in it though).
Free Switch scripts: open-automation @ GitHub
Free Switch apps: open-automation @ Enfocus appstore

If I've helped you and you'd like to say thanks, consider adding me on LinkedIn and leaving me an endorsement or recommendation. It helps a lot!

aoswood
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:16 pm

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by aoswood » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:02 pm

I figured out where my problem was. I had my templates folder on an external raid attached to the computer using it as a scratch disk. As soon as I pointed my templates folder to the local drive the configurator works as normal.

Thanks for all the input.

Sunnyland
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:34 am

Re: HP SmartStream VDP

Post by Sunnyland » Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:01 pm

Sorry to reopen an old post but I am trying to use the HP VDP with indesign 2019. I have installed The Adobe Extension toolkit for CC but I get an error in the log file stating that it only works with indesign version 5 or later.

I just have one job that comes in every 3 months, not a big deal if I cannot get working but if I can then the whole job from start to finish would be handled via switch.

Post Reply