PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post Reply
Arthur
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:58 pm
Location: Yateley, UK

PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post by Arthur » Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:10 pm

Hello clever heads :)
I am experiencing an annoying issue with PDFTK server, which seems it does not output PDFs to a folder of choice, unless I go Scan Folders Now manually from the right-click in Switch.
Until then, no PDF is produced.....
Anyone had anything like that ??

The command is fairly simple:
"%1" output "final_location\folder\_[Job.UniqueNamePrefix]_[Job.Name]"

Help anyone please ?? :)
PDFTK Issue.PNG
PDFTK Issue.PNG (28.99 KiB) Viewed 271 times

laurentd
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:06 pm

Re: PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post by laurentd » Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:28 pm

You should use "%2" with output "File at Path"
Laurent De Wilde, Solution Architect @ Enfocus

jan_suhr
Advanced member
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Nyköping, Sweden

Re: PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post by jan_suhr » Mon Apr 12, 2021 2:40 pm

And also set the Output property to "File at path" it is by default None and will there fore not output anything
Jan Suhr
Color Consult AB
Sweden
=============
Check out my apps

Arthur
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:58 pm
Location: Yateley, UK

Re: PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post by Arthur » Mon Apr 12, 2021 3:06 pm

Will check that later. I chose a defined path however as the "%2" never worked for me....
Will report after the changes.
Interesting though....

jan_suhr
Advanced member
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Nyköping, Sweden

Re: PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post by jan_suhr » Mon Apr 12, 2021 5:42 pm

Arthur wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 3:06 pm
Will check that later. I chose a defined path however as the "%2" never worked for me....
Will report after the changes.
Interesting though....
Sounds like the Output property is set to None
Jan Suhr
Color Consult AB
Sweden
=============
Check out my apps

Arthur
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:58 pm
Location: Yateley, UK

Re: PDFTK does not output PDFs in Switch unless manual folder scan is invoked

Post by Arthur » Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:36 pm

I shall report that the suggested amendments did the job and indeed it works as expected.
Which on the other hand I am finding strange, since we've been using PDFTK in our flows for the last 3 years and it never worked with "%2" for the output, yet it always did with a fixed path, as exampled earlier.
Now on the new machine it works using "%1" output "%2" and file at path and this is the most important bit.
Thank you for your help, as I would probably have my mind fixed on how it used to work for the last couple of years and be going in circles trying to figure it out myself.
Thx again.

Post Reply