Restrict High - resolution printing with Switch

Post Reply
varesc
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:00 am

Restrict High - resolution printing with Switch

Post by varesc » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:11 am

Hi,

Could you please advise if there is some way I can restrict Hi-resolution PDF printing using Switch ?

I saw that Adobe acrobat seem to have this option, but I wonder if there's some way we could do it automatically with Switch.

Ps. I tried using Adobe Acrobat Script but does not seem to work without having to press the action manually or may be I did something wrong.

Thank you so much in advance.

jan_suhr
Advanced member
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Nyköping, Sweden

Re: Restrict High - resolution printing with Switch

Post by jan_suhr » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:54 am

What do you mean by Hi-Resolutioni PDF? Does it contain images with hi-resolutioin?

If so you can with PitStop Server check the resolution and then only allow it to go to print if it is below a certain ppi value.
Jan Suhr
Color Consult AB
Sweden
=============
Check out my apps

Padawan
Advanced member
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:48 pm

Re: Restrict High - resolution printing with Switch

Post by Padawan » Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:45 pm

I think he is talking about the security settings which you can add to a PDF in Acrobat, specifically the "Allow Printing" one.

If there is an Acrobat action for it as you say, then you should be able to automate it using this plugin:
https://www.evermap.com/autobatch.asp

It will allow you to automate it via the command line. This kind of command line automation can be done with the execute command in Switch. Jan_suhrs Execute Command Friend App can help you to set up the Execute Command.

varesc
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:00 am

Re: Restrict High - resolution printing with Switch

Post by varesc » Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:30 am

In case anyone interest, I finally solve this by using

https://www.pdflabs.com/tools/pdftk-the-pdf-toolkit

Post Reply